Aberg Earns Arnold Palmer Cup Selection - FOX34 Lubbock

Aberg Earns Arnold Palmer Cup Selection

Posted: Updated:
Ludvig Aberg Ludvig Aberg

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech freshman Ludvig Aberg was named a 2020 Arnold Palmer Cup committee selection on Wednesday during the Golf Channel's Golf Central from the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard at Bay Hill Club & Lodge.

For both the men and women, the final six Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking selections will be announced on Golf Channel on March 25th along with two additional committee picks for the United States (one of which will be a non-Division I golfer) and one additional committee pick for the International side. In the initial rankings list, Texas Tech was also represented by Sandy Scott and Markus Braadlie. The Red Raiders were represented by Ivan Ramirez and Scott at the event last season with the International Team earning a win at The Alotian Club in Arkansas.

"We are extremely excited for Ludvig and happy he has been selected," Texas Tech coach Greg Sands said. "We know he will represent TTU and the International Team very well. He's playing some fantastic golf right now and will no doubt be a fantastic member of the Arnold Palmer Cup fraternity."

Aberg, who is from Sweden and is at No. 40 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking, earned his selection to compete in the event on Wednesday and will compete in the event which will be hosted by Lahinch Golf Club on July 3-5, 2020 in Ireland. He is coming off the best finish of his collegiate career by shooting 4-under-par and claiming eighth place at the Southern Highlands Collegiate in Las Vegas. For the season, Aberg is averaging rounds of 72.17 after carding 73-68-71 – 212 this week in Vegas.

Along with collegiate success, Aberg won the Sun Bowl All-American Classic in the fall and earned 17th at the U.S. Amateur Championship and 10th at the European Amateur Championship during the summer.

The United States team is led by a pair of returners in Emilia Migliaccio (Wake Forest) and Kaitlyn Papp (Texas), who will become the second and third Americans to play in three Arnold Palmer Cups, as the duo has combined to contribute 11.5 of a possible 16 points the past two events. Joining Migliaccio and Papp on the American side will be Ricky Castillo (Florida), Kaitlin Milligan (Oklahoma), John Pak (Florida State), and Davis Thompson (Georgia).

On the International side, Ireland's Olivia Mehaffey (Arizona State) and Matthias Schmid of Germany (Louisville) both make their second appearance in the Arnold Palmer Cup. Four newcomers join Mehaffey and Schmid in Ingrid Lindblad (LSU/Sweden), Pauline Roussin-Bouchard (South Carolina/France), Caolan Rafferty (Maynooth/Ireland) along with Aberg.

In his collegiate season, Aberg and the No. 4-ranked Red Raiders will return to competition on March 13 at the Grand Canyon University Invitational in Phoenix, Arizona.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2020 RAMAR. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.