Boys & Girls Club to host Alumni Hall of Fame Dinner - FOX34 Lubbock

Boys & Girls Club to host Alumni Hall of Fame Dinner

Posted: Updated:
LUBBOCK, Texas -

From the Lubbock Boys & Girls Club: 

On Thursday, Nov. 7, the Lubbock Boys & Girls Club will have its 14th Annual Alumni Hall of Fame Dinner beginning at 6:30 p.m. at the Scottish Rite Learning Center. Reception begins at 6 p.m. 

This year's inductees are Art Cuevas, former Optimist Boys Club member, Arthur Kinney, former Ted Phea Boys Club member and James Osborne, who attended the original Boys Club at 23rd and Ave. K.

We are also presenting A.J.McCleod, a former long time staff with the Vernon Jackson Award.

The criteria for induction into the Hall of Fame is as follows:

  • Must be a former member of the Lubbock Boys & Girls Club
  • Must be 35 years or older
  • The individual should serve as an example to youth of the high ideals and the long standing commitment to excellence represented by the Lubbock Boys & Girls Club. 

All nominations are submitted to the Alumni Hall of Fame Committee which makes recommendations for induction. In making recommendations, the committee shall give due regard to the following criteria:

  • Length of service to the community, state or nation by the nominee
  • The type of nature of the service by the nominee
  • Past or present involvement in Lubbock Boys & Girls Club activities, including service on the Boys & Girls Club Board of Directors in in Club programs
  • Whether the nominee reflects the high ideals and standards of excellence appropriate as an example to present and future Boys & Girls Club members 

Current Hall of Fame Members are as follows:

J.C. Chambers 2006 Abner Euresti 2008
Jay Eagan 2006 E.J. Holub 2008
Morris Sheats 2006 Jim Sexton 2008
Jack Alderson* 2007 Rip Griffin 2009
Henry Huneke 2007 Bo Sexton 2009
Buddy Mayfield 2007 Dr. Damon Hill 2009
John Tatum 2010 Hugh "Tinker" Carlen 2011
Joe Phea Jr. 2010 George Carpenter 2011
Carl Ince* 2010 David Leake 2011
Jeff Griffith 2012 John Owens 2013
Je Don Washington* 2012 Quincy White 2013
Alan Henry 2012 Gary Lane 2013
Jimmie Gowens 2014
*Deceased Benny Ray Short* 2014
Gerald Arredondo 2014
Todd Duncan 2015
Greg Phea 2015
Rudy Rosales 2015
Don West 2016
Steve Hurt 2016
Milton Lee 2016
Steve Fife 2017
Marc McDougal 2017
Charles Hankson 2017
Alma Hernandez 2018
David Burns 2018
Dale Lewis 2018

Tickets are $50 for individuals and $550 corporate tables of 8 seats. Companies can also do a $250 sponsorship if they are unable to attend and would like to show their support. We would like to thank our Title Sponsor again this year Mason Warner & Co. for their tremendous support of this event.

For more info contact the Administrative Office at 792-2880.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2020 RAMAR. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.