Community Foundation of West Texas to award over $28,000 in teac

Community Foundation of West Texas to award over $28,000 in teacher grants

Posted: Updated:
LUBBOCK, Texas -

(Press Release)

The Community Foundation of West Texas is pleased to announce the awarding of Mini-Grants for Teacherstotaling over $28,000.00 to thirty-seven South Plains Area elementary and secondary school teachers for the implementation of creative classroom projects during the 2018 – 2019 school year.  Of this amount, $1,575 will go to Slaton area teachers. These projects will provide exceptional educational opportunities for more than 5,000 students.  Mini-Grants for Teachers is a program that recognizes the commitment of great teachers and awards grants of up to $1000 for creative classroom projects that will enrich their curriculum

This is the nineteenth year of the program.   All K-12 teachers who teach in an accredited school within the South Plains area are eligible to apply in June of each year. Funding for the 2018 mini grants cycle was provided by the South Plains Foundation, Parkhill, Smith & Cooper, Dr. Lou Diekemper, the Rushing Endowment, the Bigham Fund and the Odyssey Endowment.

Since 1997, the Mini-Grants for Teachers program has awarded 600 grants to 586 teachers in 123 schools in 19 school districts.  Mini-Grants totaling over $440,000 have provided enriching academic experiences for thousands of students and have provided a means for recognizing and rewarding the efforts of outstanding teachers in the South Plains region. 

In addition to offering assistance to teachers through the Mini-Grants for Teachers Program, the Community Foundation of West Texas currently administers two hundred and eighty-six (286) funds with assets exceeding $40 million. Hundreds of grants and scholarships are awarded each year to address community needs in the areas of education, social services, health and human services, arts and culture, and civic and community.  The Community Foundation of West Texas exists to help people who care about the Lubbock and the South Plains area to invest - at any level - in its future.   

The following Slaton area schools and teachers received Mini Grants for the 2018 school year:

Cathlene Thomas Elementary-Kalan Lamberson for “Living on a Chair!”

Slaton Junior High-Sherri Rodriguez & Mary Jamison for “Break out of the Norm”

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2019 RAMAR. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.